if two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience

I agree with the above statement that if two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience. From an employer standpoint, this would eliminate trainings costs, ensure higher quality of work, and …. It is important to note that although agreeing with the above statement, there are instances where adopting this position would not be beneficial.

For starters, an applicant with experience is going to require less training, saving the employer time and money. It is easy for an applicant to have a flawless resume, but experience shows that they can do the work. For example, a PhD in Clinical Psychology does not ensure that you will be an exceptional counselor, however, a PhD in Clinical Psychology and lots of experience is more likely to result in a positive outcome. The employers knows that you have the means to apply what is on your resume, which is very important.

Another area of consideration is the quality of their work. The applicant with more experience will have references that could heighten (or lessen) the quality of their experience. If an applicant has several great references, the current employer can be confident in knowing that, if hired, this applicant will provide the company will high quality work. However, if an applicant has a flawless resume, that does not speak to their quality of work. Perhaps they were extremely book smart and got a PhD on Dean’s List, but have poor communication skills. The applicant with a PhD, mediocre grades, and good communication skills (based on references) is more likely a suitable fit.

Nevertheless, there are instances where adopting this position would be deemed not advantageous. To begin, every employee needs to start somewhere. If employers only hired applicants with previous work experience than we would soon run out of employees due to illnesses, injuries, and retirement. It is very important to ensure we will continue to have enough employees to cover essential jobs. This statement revolves around the idea of tautological reasoning. The applicant cannot get a job because they have no experience because they cannot get a job because they have no experience. The cycle needs to be broken in order for any employee to further their career and any employers to expand their business.

Another area to consider if the underlying reason why this applicant has a lot of experience. If the experience was aggregated through multiple employers where they only worked a couple months at a time, perhaps there is a reason that applicant is always let go, or perhaps they get bored easily and quit. Surely most employers prefer someone who is going to work hard and consistently then to have the best employee for two months, only to go through the hiring process all over again.

To conclude, generally it is better to choose the applicant with more experience, however there are other areas worthy of consideration. Since each situation is different, it depends a lot on what their references attest to. Looking farther into the future, it is important to ensure young workers that will eventually replace the generation with experience.