Issue: The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government

Argument: The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

Issue:

The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Throughout history, there has been a plethora of great leaders that have performed extraordinary acts of service through gaining support, teaching and empowering the mass. Examing the prompt, to develop the youth to become great leaders it is best reached by instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition. I would have to agree with the statement that this is the best route to lead to success and although competition does have its advantages, it does not rise above cooperation as a means to develop future great leaders.

Leaders have the ability to garner support from others so that ideas may be created, discussed and implemented. Leaders such as President Franklin D. Roosevelt who throughout his term in office, strived to bring people together to support the military during World War Two. FDR asked the citizens of America to discontinue the use of pennies so that the metal could be used for weapons in the war. He aimed to have food be rationed stateside so that we could send it to our troops in Europe. These are a few examples of how a great leader such as President Roosevelt used cooperation from the massive of America to support his policies and the troops fighting in the war.

Another example we can point to is the cooperation between President Roosevelt, the House of Representatives and the Senate during The Great Depression. In the midst of a nightmare, FDR reached across the political party lines to bring politicians who differed in beliefs, pushed collaboration ideas and policies which we refer to as the New Deal and built support so that the United States could pull itself out of the Great Depression by creating opportunities for Americans. This is one of the greatest examples of cooperation between groups of people who differ in political beliefs, came together in order to move forward.

However, competition does have its benefits when developing leaders as it influences individuals/groups to create bigger and better ideas. The realm of electric vehicles is a perfect example of how competition creates leaders. Telsa was at the forefront of the development and manufacturing of electric vehicles for a hand full of years. But now in 2021, we see the rise of new companies such as Rivian, Lucid Motors along with Ford, Chevy and Toyota now developing electric vehicles, creating competition between them, leading to improvements of products. While this is an example of how competition creates new leaders with in a specific industry, it still does not match up with cooperation to build future leaders as individuals/groups still need to work together, whether it is with eachother or with other companies.

To develop great leaders, I agree that cooperation is the best way in which to get to this goal rather than using competition as we can see from the examples above, cooperation brings individuals together to strive towards common goals and high amounts of success.