It is far more important to define who you are than what you stand against

Values and principles lies at the core of any individual, these set values and principles ultimately represents what an individual stands for and intimates what the individual is against. Set rules and principles that have been enacted and observed speak up for an individual when present or absent in a gathering. I mostly agree with the prompt based off the fact that when one has defined who he/she is and what they stand for, it is a brainer to be able to decipher what they do not stand for, juxtaposing the values one holds dearly invariably brings about what they stand against.

Defining who you are as an individual is crucial for everybody, defining who you are doesn’t have to be a harangue speech that s given at a go in one day. It has to go alongside actions and examples that make people really believe that you are indeed the person you solemnly speak of. In an office space where you are a reticent person, but every other staff goes against what you stand for. They share secrets vehemently and speak have such acrimony towards the bosses. You should not be found in the latter gathering as it goes against what you speak of. Associating yourself with such vociferous staffs places doubt in their minds and they get to think you are a two-timer. Restraining from those discussions makes a staunch statement and they know too well not to bring such discussions to you.

Having people question who you are and what you stand for can be such a travesty, people thinking that you might not be who you think you are makes the entire process of trying to explain what you stand against strenuous. It is very important to not sway the perception others have of you based on what you have said about your kind of person, this places doubt and questions about who you are. For instance, you preach about the fact that you are a very ingregous person and you claim to have the utmost respect for the elderly ones but then you are found going against everything you speak of, you are instead haughty and impertinent to the elderly. That goes a long way in making people wonder the kind of person you truly are.

Amongst friends and families who have watched you be a of a certain moral and value they might be in a constant state of ascetic because they saw you be a certain way and it might be hard to believe you have changed your person and now hold new values. But they do say change is constant and when your values are in order you need not have to remind people of what you stand against, your values do the talking. Having to constantly say what you are against is such a hassle as it is incongruous in people believing what you said about who you are. What you stand against is subtly imbedded in who you are.