The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the vice president suggests that the contributing factor to on job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation and proposes that workload on the workers be reduced thereby resulting in increased productivity. Experts have come to this conclusion based off the fact that workers at panoply industries plant have lower on job accidents due to the fact that their work schedules are not as rigid as that in Quilot manufacturing. However this assumption can be analyzed by three reasons.

The author assumes that the contributing factor of on the job accidents which is lack of sleep and fatigue applies to Quilot manufacturing. Perhaps the workers at Quilot manage are not constantly working whenever they are at work, they might be sleeping during working hours or they might be doing other recreational activities. It is possible that the reason there is on the job accident is because of lack of experience on the path of the worker, perhaps the worker lied to get the job. If any of this assumption have merit then the conclusion drawn holds no water.

The author assumes the circumstances that persisted in the past years still exist today. There is a possibility that in recent times Quilot has seen a distinctive reduction in on the job accident by the better training of workers or better still by recruiting experienced hands for the job. Furthermore, it is possible that the equipment’s used in the past years were not in perfect working conditions which saw an increase in the number of accidents and now the managements have seen to it that there are better working tools to carry out the job. If the above is true, then the argument is not significant.

There is an assumption that causation of accidents in Quiot manufacturing and Panoply industries plant is comparable. Perhaps, the number of workers in Quiot been more compared to the number of staffs in panoply. The glut amount of workers in an enclosed space might lead to haphazardness thereby causing accidents. Maybe, the produce of the companies varies with Quiot manufacturing industry dealing with the production of engineering products and panoply dealing with the production of other less harmful products. If the above is true, then the argument is significantly flawed.