“Success means a great ability to communicate ones essence”

Success, in the society is usually defined by the net worth of a person. The prompt recommended that the ability to communicate ones essence and thus impact the lives of others is the true meaning of success. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons.

Success is usually objective rather than subjective. A person's success should be defined by individual standards and not societal standards. For example, a person that is opulent may be considered as successful by the society on the basis of materialistic possessions. However, this Wealth doesn't unambiguously mean that the person has been able to significantly impact the lives of people in the society, as not all wealthy people are generous. Most of them are rather parsimonious in their lifestyle. This shows that the objective measures of success are spurious. An individual achieving a set of goals slated on for a designated period of time is successful too. Even though it may not be acquiring material possession, but being able to cultivate the discipline to carry out a task is success. Furthermore, in the field of academics, grades are a measure of success and this school of thought is fallacious. It has been seen in several cases where the slow learners or students that had poor grades in school make invaluable impact to the lives of people as not everyone will become a savant in academics.

The ability to fulfil one's purpose is success. It is said that "Comparison is a thief of joy". Juxtaposing the achievements of people is an incongruous way to define success. This is because everyone has a unique purpose in life and the ability to achieve one's goals is an essential proof of success. For example, a man with a goal to become a school teacher, when he eventually becomes a school teacher has communicated his essence and by personal standards is successful. This is because he has been able to achieve his goal.

Furthermore, some might opine that living in penury regardless of the inner satisfaction a person feels, is not a true measure of success as purpose should make one thrive not only to improve the lives of others, but one's own life first. However, some people regardless of their obvious achievements still feel unfulfilled. This is to say that success is actually the ability to communicate ones essence and should not be based on objective measures.

In conclusion, the prompt that success is the ability to communicate ones essence is not an easy bone to chew on, as there are diverse opinions about it.