It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

There are handfuls of elements which characterize who we are, and what we will be becoming in the future and belief is one of the most important of these fundamental characteristics. We all respond and act, on/against the basis of what we believe hence I agree with the author that it is harmful to compromise our belief and should stick to our values/belief.

Firstly, Beliefs controls our actions: it helps us decide wrong and right. For example, It is our belief that no innocent human life should be destroyed and on this basis, our fundamental constitutions were carefully developed and our courts decree guilty or not guilty for such actions. It is our belief that, every human being has certain rights such as freedom of expression, right to vote, right to eat, etc.(depending on country's constitution).Another example, Hitler believed that a jew was bad blood and polluted their country which caused the genesis of the holocaust.

Secondly, Beliefs defines our characters: It allows one's character development and prioritizes what is important and what is not. It also allows another human being to recognize that what kind of person he/she is dealing with. For example, We would never like someone to hold office of decision making if he/she believes that women are inferior to men.

For example, one can decide(along with other factors) that if they want to marry someone or not, on the basis of belief that having a casual sexual relationship outside of marriage is okay.

However, few can argue that sometimes we do compromise our beliefs to save something for greater good. For example, one may believe that "I should not lie". Despite this, people do lie to achieve/protect something. I remember, 3 years back, one of our associate swiped the attendance for somebody else and got caught. The office decided to fire but before that asked to testify everyone on the floor if he has done this before or not. Everyone lied and said "this was the first time" to save this person because we all knew that if he is fired for this crime then he will not get another chance to find a job in another office hence I beg to differ on this position and i believe that one should not have to be in such position. I would also like to add that, if somebody's life or career can be saved by not disclosing the true information then one should not disclose the true information, because our beliefs have priorities some beliefs are more important than other beliefs. Also, I can argue that we should not even have to keep such beliefs at first place.

Conclusively, we can say that one should not compromise his/her beliefs and should continue to hold such the values. However if some beliefs which I would like to add, are not necessity(one would like to have.) then compromising on such beliefs to save something greater is always a good choice.