To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is not a singular entity; rather a multidimensional, multi-layer function. In order to comprehend its most important

characteristics, it is important to take into account the characteristics exhibited by villages, towns in addition to the major cities.

Our societies differs from each other because of various factors such as: usage & procedures people follows, rules & regulation methods, mutual aid, grouping and division between people, restrictions as well as liberty enforced to people of the society.

In today's era, major cities societies are exhibit similar traits across world. people in these cities are well aware of the world and tries to imitate the similar popular standards which inhibits the author's purpose to study these cities for the characteristics of the society. By studying new delhi(india), one can understand the characteristics of mumbai(india). The most blatant example in this case is mumbai, india; which is considered as the economic hub of india with 2+ billion population in 80km of its radius. Now as per india's traditional culture; exogamy is not positively recognized however in mumbai; it is considered ok to marry someone outside of their tribe. often you will find such educated people who do not endorse any religious belief, but in small towns & villages; people follows completely opposite procedures regarding such matters; they tends to avoid exogamy as well as it is hard to locate atheist people.

also the food choices, cultural events people enjoys are different in major cities and small towns. people in major cities tends to eat packed food items whereas people in small towns make their own food consisting home grown items. small town societies tends to enjoy daily soap tv shows, cultural historical programs such as Ramayana(Hindu epic story) whereas people in major cities can be caught watching Netflix, prime & Youtube content which all are content wise international.

restrictions and liberty granted to societies are not similar in towns and major cities. A good case in this example are beijing, china compared with towns of the country. people in beijing often enjoy wide liberty because they are well connected to global forces and the society understand what kind of privileges should be given to people of its society however a town in Tibet which is also part of china will not enjoy the similar liberty. Let's take example of towns of kashmir, india when compared to new delhi, india. If any human rights violation happens in kashmir they do not have the same access to resources compared to people of delhi. people of delhi in such cases can dismantle the functioning of government however such voices in kashmir cannot even reach to their own counterparts. hence by studying only major cities; one cannot capture the important characteristics of society.

The grouping and natural division of people in society differs in small town when compared to cities. In small towns people refer to stay together most of the time and when division between people happens; it is most likely to happen because of conflict, Nonetheless, the division or grouping in major cities are natural and people tends to accept the privacy of Individuals. it is most likely that after marriage a couple moves out to different house and continue their life.

conclusively, it can be said that; to understand the characteristics of society one has to study all the major as well as small towns, villages as well because they all tends to differ with each other on some characteristics because of factors such as conflicts, restrictions & socio-economic environments. hence to have a comprehensive understanding we must gather information from all possible sources before arriving to any conclusion.