It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“A man is known by the company he keeps” and the social groups play a crucial role in every person’s life in some way. Social groups can make or break an individual and thus are of paramount importance in every individual’s life whether the individual is aware of it or not. With which kind of groups does a person get involve with, greatly defines the person. I support the assumption for three primary reasons.

To begin with, social groups have a deep impact on every individual’s life may it be a human or an animal. Individuals tend to get familiar with groups of like-minded and similar interest individuals very easily. Very rarely, there may be individuals that belong to groups that do not match their interests or liking. This, in most cases, is unacceptable to the individual and consequently results in individual keeping distance from the particular group. For instance, wolves always stay in packs and being in a pack is the strength of any wolf. We may hardly notice any wolf that is not with a pack. In such cases, the wolf either gets caught or is attacked and killed by other animals or people. Thus, a group helps in identifying our strengths, our weaknesses and working on it while being a part of the group.

Further, social groups play a crucial role at every stage of an individual’s life. It is through these social groups, that individuals get together. For instance, children tend to form groups right at the school level. These groups are based on their interests, the things that they feel are right and wrong, etc. There may be certain individuals that focus on studies and eventually would come together as a group which in turn, enhances their overall characteristics and further helps to define individuals.

Further, on a broad scale, there may be certain ethnic groups and religious groups that focus and believe in certain ideals. For instance, an immigrant may seem to get acquainted quite easily with his fellow country-men. Thus, it is these social groups that help individuals bind together and to work in a cohesive manner.

Thus, to say that social groups play no role or do not affect an individual, even an isolated one, is absurd since social groups tend to affect every individual continuously. If not for the social groups that tend to have a lasting impact on an individual, would he/she be successful, is still an unanswered question.