Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Life of humans change every day because of the advancements in the technology and automation, our life has become more compact than of our ancestors. Hence, a reasonable person might think people should not make decisions based on the past. However, the past helps us to make educated decisions in the present. People might make better choices today by retrospecting on the past. The past helps mankind to understand their progress in the present.

History aids us to understand what we are today and how much progress we have made. Past helps individuals to make better decisions than those made in the past. We could look back in history, we could look back on the world wars, and can understand the roots. These world wars had made a tremendous amount of damage to the world population. There was nothing positive about these wars, no one would ever want these wars to happen again. Thus leaders of nations can look at these wars and can understand what mistakes lead to these brutal wars. They can avoid such mistakes in the future to mitigate the probability of another world war in the future.

Similarly, Governments around the globe can retrospect upon the previous administrations and understand the decisions that caused disastrous consequences. Decisions and policies that mitigated the development and could not serve the nation to their fullest. Governments can analyze such policies and decisions extensively and that can avoid such consequences and make educated decisions to make the future of the country better.

The world of business is greatly dependent on data from the past. A business can not survive if it does not get finer than it was in the past. The past decisions and data help businesses to make healthier choices. Today, new professions called data analytics and business analytics help businesses to understand their past mistakes by analyzing the past data of that business. The majority of businesses keep the past data and carefully analyze them to understand the past trends of the markets and to understand the areas where they could have done better. Hence, the majority of businesses make important decisions with the help of past decisions and their consequences.

However, can the past help individuals to make important decisions? If we look back to the lives of our ancestors, there were many traditions, rituals, and customs. Many are forgotten today because of the drastic changes in our lives. In such situations, one can not depend on the past to make future decisions. However, we can look back on the lives of our ancestors and we can understand how much progress we have made in our lives. By looking back in the past an individual can understand how much change they have made and how much progress they can make in the future. By keeping the history in the context, individuals may understand what decisions they should make to avoid consequences in the future.

To sum up, knowing our history helps us to understand our past mistakes and helps us to make educated decisions towards the future. Our history is the base of our present and one can not avoid it. Without knowing the past it is impossible to understand the true meaning of the present and the goals of the future. If one is making decisions without retrospecting on the past, they might be avoiding the history and thus, Micheal Crichton once said, "If you don't know the past, then you don't know anything. You are a leaf that does not know it is a part of the tree."