Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places.

No one can escape the long arm of the law. Some think that the law should be accommodating enough especially when the situation being considered varies immensely from when the law was made. One the other hand, others believe that a law should always remain as is, having passed through all the mandatory legislative processes. However, it is clear from historical trends that one size does not fit all when it comes to a lot of areas, the law is not an exception here. To be truly just and fair, laws need to be adaptable to the peculiarities of the cases they are applied to.

The prestigious past president of the United States of America and a founding father, Benjamin Franklin, puts flexibility in law into practice when he had the opportunity to decide a matter. This was a case of petty theft perpetrated by an old woman in the community. The old woman narrated unashamedly how her tough financial situation and lack of help had driven her to steal. Considering the matter, Benjamin Franklin could not simply mete out punishment as stated in the law. He rebuked the old woman and requested everyone in the gathering to contribute for her needs. In that situation, applying the law directly would not have resolved the underlying issue of lack of brotherliness in the community.

Asides circumstance, time is a vital factor to consider in determining a case. Without making the pre-industrial revolution laws a bit flexible, it would have been very difficult carrying out justice in the technology age. For instance, how would the old laws have applied to online privacy violation? The change in times has opened up a wide range of possibilities, thus, the need for the law to be flexible so that it can cover new scopes of human behaviour and criminal activities. Several investigations have revealed how terrorist organisations have recruited and conducted attacks from the web - over which an inflexible law has little power. The creation of cyber-laws has helped greatly in maintaining law and order both online and physically.

It is undeniable that taking place into account has made the law more admissible in areas of diverse practices. Applying the laws with the same methodology in regions of different cultural, religious or ethnic practices will inevitably result in commotion and unfairness. What kind of tumult may ensue when the law is imposed as is on the ancient and highly revered traditions of a viilage people? To ensure that equality is preserved, the law must accommodate the practices of the various cultures.

In conclusion, to ensure the transparent dissemination of justice, laws need to be accommodating of the circumstances, time and place variances associated with each case. While it is a good idea to have a central law from which peculiarities are derived for each case, the flexibility of the laws itself is what makes justice truly possible. If anything, rigid laws can only lead to injustice.