Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Leaders play important roles in facilitating the operation of organizations, but what factors contribute the most to making a leader has consistently been discussed. Some people advocate that demands originating from the environment create leaders. While I recognize the merit of this argument, I am at odds with this proposal in terms of its comprehensiveness and believe the statement is only held in emergent situations. On the contrary, during a stable and peaceful period, leaders rely on the support from formal institutions and their own talents.

To begin with, we are reasonable to claim some talents become leaders in response to the demands of specific environments, where threats are obvious and rule of law is weak. For instance, because of the Great Depression, President F.D. Roosevelt, thus, could defeat Republican candidates, by a large margin, whose party had lived in the white house for several decades. In the 1920s and 1930s, the U.S. citizens were asking a person who could lead the country to go out of the economic recession as well as make a peaceful world. Therefore, Roosevelt could be elected as the president for four terms. We have also observed other examples in other countries which are experiencing chaos and wars, such as Mao Zedong, who as a student, becoming a leader due to the demand for the independence of Chinese. Therefore, these cases demonstrate specific environments, where people are prioritizing reforms and revolutions, could give rise to strong leaders.

However, we cannot turn a blind eye to other time periods. When the economic and diplomatic conditions are stable, if not booming, there is no consensus among citizens or no demand at all. In such a circumstance, it is formal institutions, such as election, that mainly create leaders instead of specific needs. The most recent case is the 2016 U.S. presidential election. Catering to the demands of the middle class and women, the Democratic candidate, Mrs. Clinton, won the majority of votes but did not become the U.S. President. Her failure, therefore, had more to do with the American special election system. Consequently, the aforementioned argument becomes is open to dispute when faced with this situation.

Furthermore, besides institutions, we also cannot ignore the roles of talents and other characters of the individual in forming a leader. Without prerequisite quality, a person does not have the potential to gain the leadership even with a strong demand. When faced with the same demands from German to resue the economy, it was Hitler’s expertise in speech that made him the premier of Germany rather than the leaders from socialist parties? For instance, in the field of international political economy, without doubt, Prof. David Lake is a leading scholar. His success hinges more on his contributions to the academy and energy invested in fostering younger scholars rather than meeting any necessary demands. In other words, individual ability should be first taken into considerations in examining the validity of the statement.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, we cannot deny attributing the leadership to the demands from citizens, especially when the demands are exceptionally strong. However, for most cases, we should pay attention to and assign priority to institutions and the nature of individuals.