Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

What should a strategy be when faced with balancing the economic development and the environmental protection? Some people advocate that a society should only save endangered species when their extinction is a result of human activities. While this view has its merit, I am at odds with this proposal at large degree. In my opinion, such a policy overlooks the positive consequences of protection and its implementation has the potential to hobble economic and scientific advancement.

To begin with, I understand the logic of the aforementioned recommendation and recognize the costs and resources associated with the environmental protection are significant. Factories are forced to shut down to reduce air and water pollution. Some areas are, thus, prevented from development to reserve animals‘ habitats. Therefore, putting indiscriminate efforts in saving every species is not desirable, which may hurt the general human welfare.

However, the above argument hinges on an unsubstantiated assumption that turns a blind eye to the potential benefits of protecting certain animals and plants. In other words, we, human, do not only have moral responsibility but also economic and technologic causes to do so. First, as we all know, tourism is very profitable, which even becomes a major industry contributing to the national GDP growth in certain countries, such as Thailand and Kenya. As a result, the society should make efforts to save endangered animals, if they can create revenues for that region. The government can build wildlife zoos or natural parks to attract visitors achieving the goal of environmental protection and economic development at the same time.

Second, wildlife, as a whole, is a pool of genes and has inspired a series of technological advancement. In history, birds were the father of aircraft, and the submarine was invented based on fish’s outlook. In the contemporary period, people are extracting effective elements from trees to product anti-cancer medicines. Mammals are also ideal subjects for experiements experiments. In such a circumstance, the society should also assign priority to the environmental protection for the demand for technological innovation.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, it is too precipitous for the author to reach the conclusion that human should only protect certain species when they are threatened by human activities. On the contrary, economic and scientific dynamics also justify such a policy.