Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The recommendation is well presented that some scientists suggest that to conduct interview-centered research to gain more valid information about the child-rearing practices in the Tertain village. Astonishingly as the argument may sound, scrutiny reveals its validity suffers from the failures of addressing several crucial questions, which, if proved reasonable, will cast doubt on the suggestion. Therefore, we are inquiring more information to answer these questions and better evaluate the advice.

To begin with, though two research has different conclusions, we cannot simply arrive at the conclusion that the previous study using an observation-centered approach is problematic. We have to know are there any significant changes have happened in terms of the way of rearing children between the two studies? We cannot rule out a possibility that both arguments are accurate that with the development of the local economy, the household became capable enough to raise their own children during Dr. Karp’s visit. Moreover, maybe due to the interactions with the outside world, Tertians have learned that the parent-raising approach, which assigns priority to family interactions, is better for children’s mental health. Therefore, if the further evidence demonstrates that the measure of rearing the youth has altered during the past 20 years, the recommendation is open to doubt, because the previous study with a different research approach could also be correct.

Even though we concede there was no change in the way of rearing, we also need to address questions about the latter’s interpretation. To start with, Dr. Karp seems to attributes talking more about biological parents to the parent-rearing approach, but this assumption may not be held in reality. Therefore, we need to figure out the real meaning of this finding. In contrast to the original understanding, children could be inclined to talk about their parents just because the youth are isolated and are raised by the village as a whole. Thus, they are missing their parents. If the answer supports this hypothesis, the advice is rendered questionable, because the interview-centered method fails to explore the true feelings of the interviewees.

Finally, we cannot turn a blind eye to other drawbacks of the interview measure to make a comprehensive assessment: is there any significant disadvantages of this approach, which may give rise to the collapse of the research? On the one hand, compared to the observation method, an interview could be more expensive and inconvenient, since it requires more interviewers and has to design questions. On the other hand, the quality of the interview research mainly hinges on the content of talks, which may bias the final conclusions, because respondents may intentionally or unintentionally hind something from the researchers. If these drawbacks are reasonable, the advice will be weakened.

To summarize, as we have manifested above, the writer is too precipitous to reach the conclusion that the interview-centered approach could generate more accurate results. To carefully compare these two methods, we need to trace the development of the rearing way in the village, find out the real meaning of children, and take account of other factors that could influence the choice of research methods.