It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves

When people are growing up, they are gradually socializing themselves and recognizing their positions in the society. However, how do citizens define themselves? Some people advocate that it is through the identification with social groups that individuals understand who they are. While I concede the merit of this view, to some degree, I am at odds with this argument, which cannot expound the formation of the majority, if not all, kinds of self-identification. In my opinion, people learn themselves from three sources: society, family, and individual.

To begin with, the identification with some social groups is the most commonly observed character. For instance, we are born with a specific nationality and deeply shaped by it. According to our nationality, we know who we are and distinguish “our and others.” This is the first source of identification.

However, the aformentioned statement based it on an unsubstantiated assumption that social gourps are the main, if not sole, source of self-identification. On the contrary, we cannot turn a blind eye to other kinds of communication and interactions. Besides social activities, the interactions with family members also help us define ourselves. The role of family members, such as parent, brother, and sister, is significantly different from the identification originating from careers or nationality. The basement of the former is not from monetory relationships or power structure but love and sacrifice.

Furthermore, the argument is open to doubt, when some identification comes from individual natural characteristics and is immuned from the influence of external forces. Sextuality is a great example that individual can solely decide which gender is attractive to him or her. Scientific research has demonstrated that genes rather than education are the main determinant of sextuality. Therefore, we have observed a stable ratio of homosextual group to the general population around the world whether the government is supporting equal rights, ignoring homosextuality, or even punishing homosextual behaviors.

To summarize, as I have manifestied above, even though we cannot ignore the role of the communication with social groups in defining individuals, we should also take account of other factors. For example, family members help people figure out their specific responsibilities. Moreover, some identification is formed just according to one’s own nature and does not require the interactions with others.