The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

The argument is well presented in the memorandum that the author is at odds with constructing new generating plants due to the predicted low demand. Astonishingly plausible as the statement may sound, scrutiny reveals it suffers from several unsubstantiated assumptions, which, if not justified, will cast doubt on the claim. Therefore, we are inquiring more information about local residents’ attitudes toward new technologies and local population predictions to better evaluate the argument.

To begin with, by citing the marketing efforts of manufacturing companies, the planning department assumes that their strategy will be effective in persuading consumers to purchase more energy-efficient appliances. However, this suggestion may not be true in reality. For example, the prices of new-technology equipment could be higher than old appliances, therefore, local residents may be reluctant to buy such products. Without further evidence about the new appliances’ affordableness, the argument is open to doubt, since we cannot prove the sales of energy-saving products will increase resulting from the marketing attempts. On the contrary, if the statistics from manufacturing companies demonstrate that such a marketing policy is efficient, the assumption will be more robust.

Moreover, the author further informs us there are new technologies available to cut the energy needed for home heating and seems to presume the local residents will adopt these technologies, which give rise to the reduction of energy. While we recognize the merit of this assumption, we still cannot rule out the possibility that these technologies are not applicable to this region. For instance, the solar heating system is requiring a certain period of exposure to the sun every day. Therefore, an area where is raining nearly all the days, such as Seattle, is unlikely to use these technologies and, thus, will not experience the decrease in energy consumption. In such a circumstance, if the local residents assign priority to traditional heating methods because of environmental factors or monetary issues, which are shown above, the prediction will be rendered questionable.

Granted the existing citizens will accept new technologies, which causes the decline in energy consumption per household, it is still too hasty to arrive at the assumption that the total energy usage will maintain at the same level, if not increase, in the following years. As we know, the energy consumption originates from a variety of factors. As a result, we are asking for more evidence to figure out potential population changes in the future. If the regional economy is booming and the city attracts more immigration and companies, especially manufacturing firms, from other places in the country, the assumption will be weakened, because the jump in energy consumption due to the increase in the population could offset the effects of energy-saving appliances. By contrary, new evidence showing the local population will not increase should strengthen the presumption.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, the writer is too precipitous to reach the conclusion that the energy usage will not significantly alter in the future absent taking account of the validity of several unstated assumptions.