Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The argument is well presented that the author attributes the reported decline in deer population to global warming trends. Astonishingly plausible as the statement may sound, close scrutiny reveals it suffers from the absence of several pieces of key evidence, which, if unjustified, will cast doubt on the credibility of the argument. Therefore, we are inquiring more information about the deer population, their living conditions, and the local climate to better evaluate the claim.

To begin with, though we are informed that, according to hunters’ reports, the number of observed deer is decreasing, we are waiting for sound evidence to prove whether this description is true. On the one hand, we cannot rule out the possibility that the deer groups become cleverer and are able to cover themselves from local hunters. On the other hand, from the perspective of observers, maybe, to due outdated equipment and poor training, local hunters, in terms of the technological level, are more difficult to find the trace of deer populations. In such circumstances, the argument is open to doubt, because the real population of deer is relatively stable, if not increasing.

Moreover, by citing the recent news about global warming, the author seems to claim the local temperature is warm enough to interrupt deer’s migration patterns. However, since global warming trends are not significantly observed around the world, we need further information to know the change in local climates. For example, local temperature, on the contrary, could be lowering during this period, which is similar to what is happening in Greenland. If we cannot find robust evidence to support an increasing local temperature, it may hurt the aforementioned statement. If the environment is proved to be warmer by scientific research, we are more confident to claim the deer’s habitats are being threatened.

Granted the deer’s population is declining and the local temperature is rising, it still hasty to reach the conclusion that it is the melting sea ice is the main, if not the sole, cause taking responsibility of this consequence. We need more information to take account of various factors. For instance, the local government could recently lift the annual quota for the number of deer that is allowed to be hunted. Moreover, air and water pollution could also have detrimental effects on the deer population. Only after excluding the influence imposed by other important variables can we ensure the determining roles of global warming.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, it is too precipitous for the author to arrive at the conclusion absent obtaining several pieces of vital evidence. Though we cannot rule out the influence of global warming that gives rise to the reduction of deer’s habitat, we need more evidence about the accuracy of the reports, local temperature changes, and details of the living environment to better assess the argument.