Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The argument is well presented that the writer recommends that Omega University end the implemented teaching assessment system to increase the competitiveness of graduates. Astonishingly plausible as the suggestion may sound, it suffers from the absence of several key evidence, which, if proved unwarranted, will cast doubt on the argument’s credibility. Therefore, we are inquiring more information to better evaluate the claim.

To begin with, we are informed the grades are inflating, but additional evidence is required to attribute such an increase to the evaluation system. On the contrary...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.