Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

The explanation is well presented that the author attributes the better health and greater longevity in Leeville to its relaxed pace of life. Astonishingly plausible as the statement may sound, scrutiny reveals it is challenged by several alternatives, which, if proved, will cast doubt on the credibility of the existing explanation.

To begin with, though we are informed the reported number of sick leave is fewer in the Leeville region, it is not equivalent to a better health situation among local workers. The writer cannot rule out the possibility that the local employment environment is significantly different from that in big cities. For instance, workers may be fear to report illness and insist to work when they are sick. Moreover, Leeville employees may assign priority to the character of hardworking, which makes them less willing to take sick leaves. Therefore, a fewer number of reported sick leaves does not signal a better health condition in small towns. Consequently, the beneficial effects of the relaxed pace are open to doubt.

Moreover, by citing the share of physicians, the author seems to imply that residents in Leeville are unnecessary to hire more doctors because they are already healthy. However, this argument hinges on an unsubstantiated assumption, which is not always held in reality, that the local public budget and residents’ incomes can afford such expenditure. On the contrary, the local economy may not be able to increase the doctor-resident ratio to the level at big cities, since Leeville is a small town. The existing explanation will be rendered questionable, if this alternative has been proved more accurate. Leeville has a lower proportion of physicians to residents is not because it does not have such a need, but because the city does not have the required financing capability to do so.

Finally, the writer further claims the pace of life should receive the credit for a higher average age in Leeville. Nevertheless, a higher average age does not mean a greater longevity. On the one hand, such an age structure could represent an unhealthy population structure—an aging society. There is a possibility that the local economy is stagnated, and the younger generation has left the city and moved to areas with a booming economy. On the other hand, immigration could also have the potential to contribute to the average age. Maybe Leeville has a lower property price and greater climate, which attract the retired population to move to this region. None of these alternatives demonstrate the longevity is greater in small towns. Therefore, the pace of life is difficult to be honored for its roles.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, it is too precipitous for the author to arrive at the conclusion that the relaxed pace of life has tremendous positive impacts on residents’ health without taking account of other alternatives. We cannot turn a blind eye to other influential factors, which could also give rise to the aforementioned phenomena.