The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The recommendation is well presented here that the author suggests opening a cafe in the book store to attract more consumers. Astonishingly plausible as the advice may sound, close scrutiny reveals it suffers from the absence of answers to several key questions, which, if not appropriately addressed, will cast doubt to the credibility of the recommendation. Therefore, we are inquiring more information to better evaluate the advice.

To begin with, though we are informed that at the country level, the share of children is declining, but it is dangerous to draw a hasty generalization, and we still seek to know what the situation is in the city, where Monarch is located. We cannot rule out such a possibility that the general trend is not applicable to this city due to a regional booming economy, which can attract all kinds of citizens from the country. Moreover, the local government could also enact laws to encourage marriages and pregnancy giving rise to an increase of the younger generation. In such a circumstance, the original recommendation will be weakened, since the local population structure is more stable and healthy than the national one, which means the children book market is still large enough to gain profits. On the other hand, if the local trend follows a broader map, the advice will be more desirable to replace a shrinking market with a potentially profitable business.

Even though we concede that the proportion of children is also decreasing in this region, the suggestion could still be rendered questionable, since it hinges on an unsubstantiated assumption that only children are interested in or brought by the children’s book section. The author has to figure out whether or not reducing the share of children’s books will drive adult consumers away. We cannot turn a blind eye to the following situation that some parents are asked by their children to visit the book store and also purchase some books for themselves. In other words, the children’s section not only attracts young consumers but also their parents, friends, and relavents. If the answers are not positive, it may not be ideal to cut this section for its detrimental outcomes.

Granted the young population is shrinking and cutting children’s book section will not generate negative effects on consumers, it is still too hasty to reach the conclusion that starting a cafe has the potential to be profitable. Bring in new consumers is not equivalent to a increase in the total number of customers. The author has to offer more information to answer that will the cafe hurt the attractiveness of Monarch, as a book store. The cafe is not always a silent place, but this is a precondition for a great book store. Therefore, if the new cafe is noisy and damages the reading experiences of current customers, it may not necessarily result in the jump of the number of consumers and probably hurt its competitiveness.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, it is too precipitous for the author to arrive at the conclusion that a cafe will bring more consumers and, thus, benifit its competition. The author has to answer questions about the local population structure, possible influence associated with closing the children’s book section, and the possible impacts on readers by opening a cafe.