According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument is well presented that the author argues the academic honor code system is more effective than the old monitoring system. Astonishingly plausible as the statement may sound, close scrutiny reveals it is challenged by several alternatives, which, if proved valid, will cast doubt on the credibility of the previous claim. Therefore, we are inquiring more information about the accuracy of the report, other factors that can influence cheating behaviors, and the comprehensiveness of the survey to better evaluate the argument.

To begin with, by citing the drop in the number of reported cases of cheating, the author seems to attribute the decline to the impacts of the new system. However, we cannot rule out the possibility that students are less inclined to report cheating activities in such a circumstance. Without the monitor from teachers, students may have a consensus that cheating together to earn better scores and implicitly agreeing that they will not report others to teachers. Moreover, even for those, who do not participate in misbehaviors, they may assign priority to the friendship than morality. Thus, neither do they tell the truth to educators. If this alternative has been proved correct, it will significantly hurt the validity of the statement, because the real number of cheating cases does not change, if not increase. If this guess is disproved, we can place more trust in the decrease in the cheating cases.

Granted the all cheating cases have been reported on time, it is still hasty to reach the conclusion that the new systems should receive the credit for the reluctance of cheating after Groveton adopted the new policy. As we all know, a misbehavior originates from a variety of factors. Maybe the quality of students has increased and the content has become easier during this period, thus, it is unnecessary for students to gain a higher grade via cheating. If other factors are demonstrated more efficient in correcting academic misbehaviors, the original explanation will be rendered questionable, since the new system may play a minor role, if not negative, in reducing cheating cases.

Finally, the author seems to expond the reletance of chearing found in the recent survey by the impacts of the honor code system. However, the same logic can also be applied here that we cannot a blind eye to the credibility of the report. The explanation’s validity hinges heavily on the honesty of respondents. If they fail to tell the real feelings because of potential punishments or peer pressures, the conclusion inferred from the survey is open to doubt. Moreover, the surveyed sample may be so limited that gives rise to a biased consequence. On the contrary, if the responses are real, and the survey has been conducted prudently and comprehensively, it will bolster the argument.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, it is too precipitous for the author to arrive at the conclusion that the honor code system is more effective than the old model absent addressing other possible alternatives.