Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

When it comes to the approach to understanding a society, some people advocate that outsiders should assign priority to the group the society regards as its heroes or role models. It is because citizens are inclined to attach the highest ideals to their heroes. While this view has its merit, I am, to some degree, at odds with the claim and believe these charaters, which seem to be reflected by role models, are not comprehensive and sometimes biased. Therefore, researchers should also pay their attention to ordinary people to fully devlve a society.

To begin with, we have to recognize that heroes and public figures offer foreigners a great opportunity to explore some significant charaters of a group of people.

However, the aformentioned statement hinges on an unsubstantiated assumption that people who have been selected as role models can represent the whole population. This presumption is not always held for two reasons. First, even though as we have demonstrated above, heroes have embodies the dreams of a country, they usually turn a blind eye to the negative side of the society. These features even though are contempted by the society but deeply embedded into its genes. With the development of its economy and technology, the world has observed a series of heroes who have merged in the Chinese society. Chinese people praised them as technological heroes of the country contributing to the China’s technological domination in the world. On the contrary, in the summer of 2018, the sanction on ZTE, a Chinese communication company, fully showed the lack of rule of law in this society.

Second, to serve some political and ideological purposes, heroes may be polished by the authority, which gives rise to a false image of the society. For instance, during the 2008 Wenchuan Earthquake, the national media in China were repeatedly reporting the story of a men called Tan Qianqiu. He was described as a hero in the earthquake, since he was reported to protect two students sacrificing his life. What was ironic was that the whole story was forged by local officials aiming to create a hero to encourage the society.

In such a circumstance, the claim is rendered questionable, because the charaters what heroes have reflected have been polished or even created by the government.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, if the outside world wants to gain a profound understanding of a society, not only need it to focus on these who are being advocated, but also analyze the common citizens in that area.