The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The recommendation is well presented in this letter that the homeowner recommends that his or her friend delegate the real estates to Adams Reality for sale. Astonishingly plausible as the suggestion may sound, close scrutiny reveals it suffers from several unsubstantiated assumptions, which, if unjustified, will cast doubt on the credibility of the advice. Therefore, we are inquiring further information about the two companies’ employees, effectiveness, and the home the friend wants to sell to better evaluate the recommendation.

To begin with, we are informed that the Adams has more agents, especially full-time employees, than Fitch, but it is not equivalent to that Adams has a better employee force. The assumption that more full-time employee means a better operation will be rendered questionable, if the larger workforce is a result of cronyism. Moreover, another message in the letter seems to deny the presumption, because it shows that the sales per capita actually is lower for Adams compared to Fitch. Therefore, it challenges the conclusion that Adams is superior to Fitch, because the sale number signals Adams’ agent is less effective.

Moreover, by comparing the author’s experiences with two companies, the homeowner attributes the fast sale to Adams’ effectiveness. On the contrary, this argument hinges on a supposition that the two homes are relatively the same in terms of their location, price, and community, which is not always held in reality. If we finally find out the home sold by Adams is located in the downtown with a safer community, while Fitch’s one is in the rural area, it will make the recommendation open to doubt. It is because of some external factors that facilitate the sale for Adams than the difference in their capabilities. If the two homes are very similar, it will support the proposal.

Granted that, in past, Adams had a higher annual revenue and was more efficient in selling homes, it is still too hasty to draw a generalization that the consequence will reappear when it comes to the friend’s property. Maybe on the one hand, Adams has experienced a massive layoff, and new employees are poorly trained. On the other hand, Fitch has made profound reforms to refine its workforce and selling process. In such a circumstance, Fitch could be a similar, if not better, choice as Adams. Nevertheless, if Adams has kept its traditions, we could place more trust in its capability as well as the suggestion.

To summarize, as I have manifested above, though we cannot rule out the possibility that Adams is a better choice than Fitch in selling homes, it is too precipitous for the author to arrive at the conclusion without proving the aforementioned presumptions. The conclusion will be more persuasive if taking account of more details.