Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The following passages states that to obtain correct information future research should be carried out through interview-centered method. The reasons provided for this passage might be logical and probable, however there are numerous holes and unwarranted reasons that weakens the conclusion.

First of all, the author compared the research result of two different anthropologists from completely different era. Dr. Field went for the research almost two decades before Dr. Karp went. It is probable that a lot of things changed during these 20 years. The people of Tertia were benighted, but not anymore. During these 20 years, a lot of other visitors have went to Tertia for the same reason as these two doctors. And while their visit, many might have taught them the basic characteristics of any normal parent or human being. Hence, every parent now in Tertia know how to take care of their own children. Therefore, the behaviors of Tertian are different from what Dr. field has seen.

Moreover, the author mentioned that Dr. Karp visited a group of islands including Tertia, where Dr. Field only visited Tertia. This proves the gap in the argument because Dr. Field specifically studied the Tertian culture, but Dr. Karp has an overall idea about the people of different islands near Tertia. Moreover, we do not know the number of people each doctor surveyed. A statistical overview of the people interviewed and observed would have been better.

We can also notice that Dr.Karp used interview-centered method unlike Dr. Field who used observation-centered method. there is a huge difference between these two methods. The method Dr. Karp used is where people has to approach him for interviews, where he asks them series of questions and they give him a specific answer. However, Dr. Fields method is more stronger as he observes each and every person and their lifestyle without causing any sort of disruption. As the methods were different, we cannot justify that Dr.Karp's method is better than Dr. Fields's.

The conclusion could have been stronger if the author provided more warranted reasons. Moreover, lack of statistical data and valid reasons have weakened the argument.