The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We are blessed with new inventions and, novel ideas emerge from different parts of the world every single that. The main aim of most of these innovations is to make human life easier but, are these luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life actually a bane in disguise? I believe that there are two sides to this coin. One side elaborates the boon and the other the drawbacks of this way of life.

Firstly, I would like to elaborate on the positive side of it. Day by day, the world is becoming a more complex place to live in due to the increasing competition in every field. This only makes life more tiresome and makes people mentally strained and hinders the quality of life. With gadgets that make day-to-day activities simpler, it relieves us of stress and helps in relaxation. For example, during the COVID 19 pandemic, if not for the mobile phones and high tech gadgets, every one would suffer greatly due to the untimely extended solitude because of extensive lockdowns. The existence of applications like Skype and Zoom made life bearable in such trying times.

Secondly, with the increasing temperatures around the globe due to Global warming, there is no choice but to succumb to air-conditioners and coolers. These are not only luxuries but need of the hour with the ice caps melting at such an alarming rate. The scenario is same when it comes to automobiles and vehicles, public transport, flights. More than just convenience, they are essential part of everyday lifestyle in today's world.

Now, I would like to elaborate on the way these leisures have taken a toll on our human health. According to many doctors, fitness experts and studies carried out, any human being should have their heart rate above 110 beats/minute for atleast 20 minutes of the day in order to be fit but, we all know the drastic scenarios of obesity, heart diseases, cancer and so on in every country. Among the many contributing factors to this, one of the most important one is how whatever we want is just one click away, be it food, shopping or medicines. This is making us lazier and our way of living laidback.

All in all, I believe, it differs from person to person if they wish to make the most of the opportunity presented to them to grow or, to perish. An individual is definitely moulded by their environment and the luxuries and conveniences, but to entirely drown into this sea of contemporary life is to fall into a never ending pit leading to an unhealthy short life. One should all stay true to their roots while spreading their branches every where to explore new possibilities to develop into a truly strong and independent individual.