A number of different medical traditions are now widely known and used: Western medicine (using drugs and surgery), herbal medicine, acupuncture (using needless at certain points of the body), homoeopathy (using minute doses of poisons), and soon.

How important is the patients’ mental attitude towards his/her treatment in determining the effectiveness of the treatment?

In today's world, there are a multitude of medical therapies available for treating various diseases, ranging from use of xenobiotics and surgery in western medicines to Homeopathy and Ayurveda. it does not end there, more upcoming methods of treatment include Aromatherapy, acupuncture and so on. All of these aim at improving the health of a patient, and a positive mental outlook promotes faster healing, as compared to lack of willingness to feel better.

Being optimistic is considered therapeutic in itself, and might increase the chances of getting fit sooner than later. For instance, in the movie starring Emilia Clarke, Me Before You: Will the protagonist faces a disastrous accident, damages his spinal cord and loses function of both his limbs. In turn, he becomes disconnected from the outside world, forlorn and unhappy with his present situation because he knows he would not be able to do any of the extreme adventurous activities he could in the past like, sky diving, deep-sea Scooba diving, paragliding etc. The story takes a turn, when the cheerful and scintillating Louisa enters his life. She brings a ray of hope for him by making elaborate travel plans for him which turns him into a sanguine person, hopeful to live and his medicines. Though, the movie does not have a happy ending, it clearly depicts the how efficacious a patient's mental attitude in determining the effectiveness of the course of treatment.

To sum up, medical treatments can only do so much, the body and it's functions and intricately and deeply related to the mind. As the saying goes, "A healthy body means healthy mind" and vice versa. even generally, a sad person may not feel at the peak of their health while someone in a good mood with a fever may seem as if they are not even suffering from an ailment. All in all, upbeat mindset aids the efficacy of medications and treatments for any patient.