It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the most compliacted questions of all times is, "Who am I?" Hence, stating that, we our primary identification is dependent on our social groups is not true. Thought part of identity might be affected by it but not wholly. To define oneself, eclectic factors come into play, ranging from ones likes and dislikes, their personality and so on.

I believe to define onself is a taxing task. In job interviews when asked to define yourself, most candidates suffer a blow and take a while to wonder what best can explain who they are. If you ponder on the same topic, you too will feel the same way. Let us take an example of such an interview for a data analysis job. The candidate may have been part of a college sorority, and it may have played a major role in becoming who they are today but at the same time this person may think for a second in this moment is this really the place or time to define myself on the basis of such a social group. What I am trying to say is that, how we define ourselves is situational: in a reunion party of college you may identify as an alumuni and make the most of the experience.

Further, in today's society everyone has instagram bio's defining themselves in a few characters, identifying themselves as a specific gender. But is this all they are? Is a transgender person only trans and nothing else? I would like take the example of Trinetra, she is an influential member of today's society from Kasturba medical college. She stands for the rights of the LGBTQ+ community, but beyond all this, she also identifies as a meticullous doctor. Her social beliefs are not the only ones that define her.

An individual is not just made of one component, many things come together to make a beautiful person.

Social interactions do affect our personalities and how we tend to identify ourselves in many places. If you are part of a Pride parade, you identify as a supporter of the LGBTQ+ community, because doing otherwise is impertinent. Many times people may just identify themselves as part of a social group to fit in. I don't feel this is entirely horrendous, but at the same time, why not just be true to yourself.

Many people suffer from social anxiety, and are diffident. They are not part of large interactions and gatherings and prefer to stay indifferent. A lot of these people would mostly be insecure about the fact that they are anti-social and would never identify as an introvert, which should be the "social definition" of their self. I mean why would anyone want to wear their insecurities on their sleeve and flaunt it, right?

How a person expresses themself should be a personal choice and not be affected by judgement or trends or anything for that matter. This helps one realize their true potential when any difficult situaution is thrown at them. "Stay original", even though the banality of this statement may throw you off, but it is true and should be one's mantra of life to become a strong independent being.