The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Daily lifestyle is quite influenced by habits which is the nature of mankind. Humans are the slave of habitual facts whether it is good or bad. The prompt says if anyone accustomed to a pompous life it is difficult to refrain themselves from hard working for self development which can help to the individuals as a self growing person directly or indirectly. Thereby I strongly agree with the statement for two reasons.

Firstly, luxury and hard working both are the opposite side of a coin. For the self development of an individuals one must have to do a hard core job. In any case grandiloquent life standard hinders anyone to take a path which involves lot of struggle and risk at the same time. For example, people living in the developing countries are under privileged and they could not even fulfill their basic rights which is food, cloth, shelter, treatment and education. And if they don't even try to change their fate by extreme hard working it won’t be possible for themselves to transform their condition. So the fuel of working die hard will come from their poor condition of being under rated lifestyle. Therefore if we consider the opposite side of the coin one habituated with the luxury will take it for granted. And they will not even try to develop of their own as they are living their best at present. So, as long as the state of basic need concerns one will not try to nourish oneself which will lead to an ultimate better version from previous one.

Secondly, growing as an independent individual both mentally and physically is not a trivial task to attain. One must have to broaden the capacity to deal with the upcoming problem and the tendency to withstand all the struggle that will come forward. Self development is the tool of measuring ones effort that has been given in their day to day life. And there are too many factors which hinders the path of the improvement. Luxury is one of them. For instance, if we can see the state of the developed country there are too many people coming from outside which they are hiring to develop the condition as the privileged people of the country already taken the luxury as granted and not even trying to help themselves as a developed individuals. So, leading the life that everyone dreams and simultaneously working with the tool for upbringing personal virtue is not possible.

Of course some will argue that why to develop oneself as long as their current state is not affected and why to choose the hard path while having all the benefits and dwelling at the best anyone can have. However, the urge for betterment will come forward only if anyone have the cravings for a privileged and pompous life.