It's better to have above average knowledge than excellent

It is critically important that people should have certain amount of knowledge on every aspect of life. Personally, I prefer that it is better to be mediocre rather than excellent in a particular thing. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, people who are mastered at one thing cannot deal with other things. Life is too unpredictable. You never know what will happen to you in your life. So, it is better to be prepared in your life so that you can deal with these uncertain problems. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. For example, back to my varsity days when I was all alone in a new city. I had no idea about practical life rather than studying. I felt helpless as I did not know how to cook, how to do shopping and so many. Luckily, I got some of my friends who used to give these practical lessons. From this example we can see that if I had practical knowledge on life rather than studying, I might not be facing with these difficulties.

Secondly, having excellent knowledge on one thing contracting one's knowledge horizon. There is no gain by being meticulous in one rather than being average on everything. When anyone want to be perfect at a particular thing, he has to spend a lot of time on that. It's not a good way if someone want to broaden intellectual level as you have to keep schedule of other things if you want to acquire knowledge on everything. For instance, in my school I used to love mathematics so much that I always spend much of my time by doing math. As a result, I ended up by failing in other subjects. Had I concentrated on the others I might not be failed in high school.

To sum up, everyone should try to be above average rather than to be excellent at one thing. This is because it will help to deal with the problems of life as well as it will broaden intellectual level.