The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

History is the subject of what happened in past, how our ancestors lived, how they behaved, and many others thing about past. In ancient time, people did have different way of living than the way we are living now. Indeed, chief benefit of the study is not to break down the illusion that people in one period of time are significantly different that who lived in other time in the history. Instead, history shows evidence of what happened in past and let people learn from what happened in past and how human life evolved in past.

During the study of history, people find that the life styles of people are variable from one period to the other. However, some basic human nature always remains the same. In the earlier times, people mainly depended on pigeons and then letters to correspond with others, while in modern times with the advanced technology, Internet, telephone, television, automobile are the main methods for us to communicate with others. They used to travel from one place to other on horses and camels. It is but natural that as the technology changes, there come changes in the lifestyles of people.due to advance thinking people invented various means of communication.

Human history began after end of an Ice Age from Africa six million years ago. First of our ancestors were man like animals who slowly evolved in to human being. History shows man has evolved from Gorilla to Homo sepian to a human being and learnt lots of techniques for his survival and his body needs ranging from developing tools for hunting to making ornaments. Over the period of five and half million years, man migrated from Africa to Eurasia to North America to South America and lived improved life by developing and inventing various things for improving his life such as of inventing how to ignite the fire and developed weapons for hunting. Thus, the way man lived six millions years ago was different than how he lived 5 millions years ago and was much different how he lived four millions years ago and how we live now. And there for, it is not an illusion, but it is the fact that man lived differently at different times of the history.

Hence, from the perspective of life styles of different people are different from each other. However, there are many other aspects in which people in any period of time are quite the same. Therefore, the chief benefit of studying history is not to break any illusion but to learn from the past and to avoid the mistakes done by people in the past.