"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and a wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

The author of this argument claims that monarch book can increase profit by assuming that the replacement of the children book section with a cafe is more beneficial. Although this argument seems plausible the close scruting reveals its logical untenability.

At the first place, the author reports that the opening of Collegeville store, a combination of book store and coffee shop, will affects the customers of the monarch books. The author was too quick to assume that the establishment of combo bookstore along with coffee will attract the customers. However, he fails to address whether the types of book available at store is as widely as that of monarch book or not. The reason for large customer in monarch is due to wide selection of books on various subjects. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the book and bean. Unless the author mention the fully valid and reliable reason for the reduction on customer in monarch book, it cannot be used to effectively back the author argument.

Secondly, the author implies that monarch books should open its own in-store cafe in the space devoted for children books based on the fact that there is decline of percentage of population of children, and thus the sale of children book will decline. Since, there is no restriction for the people to read books, author assume that children are the only customers who likes to buy children books. In the argument it is not mentioned that child books are only for children. There might be customers above ten who likes to read the children books. thus, to strengthen the argument the author should clearly mention whether there are customers who like to buy children books or not.

Building upon the implication that the replacement of children book section with a cafe will increase the profit, the author assumes that it can compete with book and bean. The author fails to mention the reason, how the establishment of café will increase the profit? the argument doesnot mention anything about the customers whether they like to go to the café or not. Moreover, the argument states that profit is the only one factor to compete with book and beans. There might be various other factor like environment, space and the location of the store also. Thus, the author doesnot effectievely shows the clear connection between the replacement of children book section with the café and the increase in profit of the monarch books.

In summary, the author fails to prove that the establishment of book and bean will affect the customers of monarch books and its revenue. To make the argument more persuasive the author should provide more information about the reason for declination in customer and their hobbies.