No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Although it sounds extreme when author claims that ant field of study can make progress “only” with the help of outsiders of the field, for the most part, I agree with the author in that professionals from outside the field can make a significant contribution to the progress of a field of study such as business, politics and arts.

First, in the realm of business, it is very common to observe many professionals outside of business are brought into business field. For instance, in an effort to increase the sales revenue, many companies assiduously finds a way to understand minds of consumers by employing psychologists for their marketing research departments. Through the study of the psychology of consumers, the advancement of study of marketing strategy can significantly improve. Additionally, in preparation to protect companies from various liability issues, many companies hire their own company attorneys so that attorneys can study the ways to protect the company from possible loss through any lawsuits. The involvement of these outside professionals made it possible to advance not only practical progress but also academic progress in marketing strategy or commercial legal aspects.

The realm of politics is the area that involves the most professionals outside this field because public leaders have to deal with a diverse issues and problems domestically and internationally. In order to be an effective policy maker and to exercise great leadership, the leader has to have a thorough understanding of the needs of the people in the country. However, as leader is not perfect, he will need a help from many professionals such as environmentalists, scientists, experts of international relationships, Asia or Europe and even translators so that he could communicate with the leaders from other countries.

One might claim that certain field such as art is not in need of help of outsiders. For examples, musicians, painters or photographers can easily advance the field of arts only with their own expertise and skills. However, it is inevitable for even the artists to rely on other professionals at times. For instance, in the study of ancient arts or the arts where the origin of which are ambiguous, it is inevitable to resort to archeologists or other professionals that can scientifically examine the materials or condition of the arts to detect their origin.

In sum, as complicated as world is, one problem or one aspect of field cannot be studied by excluding other factors that affect the field. For this reason, involvement of professionals outside the field will not only contribute to the expansion of the views on a subject but also bring a synergy effect in further advancing the growth of the field.