The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

It is not uncommon to consider oneself diffrent from others we all are unique in our own way. The prompt suggest that the sole purpose of studying history is to mark one self diffrent from the people in past. In my point of view, I partially agree with the prompt and provide three reasons of support.

To begin, history is very crucial for understanding how we have evolved, history provides us with facts which we can leverage to our advantage. For instance, when nuclear bomb was dropped we during second world war Japan was devastated and humanity had a indelible taint. After the events of of the Herosima bomb humanity came to a conclusion of never using nuclear weapon which indeed shows how much we can learn from history. Moreover, it is in our best interest to learn from history as it can be our datum line. So we do not make the same mistakes.

Secondly, It is true that people living in older times were diffrent from people living this era but, there is no comparison between these two times. History is a subject which is greatly valued across the globe and, it is not because it draws comparisons between two diffrent times, It is valued based on the merit of the subject it self. history provides us plethora of knowledge in diversified fields. For instance, If it were not for the history we would have never known scientific theories which were developed in early 2000 BC, we would have never known the philosophy of Plato, and invention of the number Zero. History is not about just comparing people it provides ample of information to humanity and the turn of events.

To conclude, it is open ended discussion how to use history for our advantage but in my point of view history gives us ample of information about other fields than just comparison of people of diffrent times.