The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I don’t think the benefits of history can be trivialized to this statement. In fact the benefits of proper reading of history would help someone in understanding how societies had different contexts, how societies subscribed to different values in specific times and which social groups had the power to influence and many more. These things help in understanding at understanding our present. I think that is the main benefit of history. Being able to understand the present and understanding the process of how we as a society arrived at such decisions. Looking at history, one does see a lot of similarities in the present and the past making one feel that we are not significantly different and makes one wonder whether is history repeating itself? This is where a deeper understanding and perspectives matter. History not only helps in understandings that but it can help us further if we go one step ahead. It helps us understand the similarities and also we could learn how a certain problem was dealt then, history helps us to make informed decisions learning from the past. It gives a holistic perspective to the present.

Example: when I look at the current debate of the concept of ‘Nationalism’ in India, I feel in the past as early as 1900s this is was the topic which was discussed among the intellectuals in India. Like now, the intellectuals took hard stand and argued vehemently. Some of the intellectuals have feared arguing about “nationalism” in early 1900s because India was yet to get independence and they feared one identity is needed to unify India, unlike now, where we have more freedom to discuss the concept of nationalism. One can challenge the idea without fearing much consequence because certain liberties and freedom of thought has been guaranteed since then. Understanding the past helps in making the present decisions. In this issue since I am able to appreciate the struggle that my people have gone to gain these liberties I am more tolerant to others views and I am able to understand the importance of having different views

Hence I think the main idea of history is to be able to reflect, understand, appreciate and criticize the present understanding the past. According to me, how we arrived at where we are right now, the context and values that influenced our society are the main benefits of reading history. Hence I don’t agree with this view, I think History does help us compare our lives but history is much more than that.