"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author proposes to open a cafe in the Monarch book store based on various assumptions in support of the argument. While the idea could be good, further analysis of the evidence and testing of assumptions is required before arriving at any conclusion.

To start with, the author assumes that since the Monarch book store has been in business for over twenty years, opening a cafe would also have good business. This is an unwarranted assumption as there is no causal relationship between book readers and cafe goers. We must question whether the Monarch store is frequented for the books or for the cafe? It can be the case that visitors like the peaceful and quite store, and opening a cafe would drive them away.

In order to make space for the cafe, it is proposed that children's book section can be discontinued as it may become less popular in the future because a national census projected reduction in number of population below ten years. This assumption has multiple flaws in it. Firstly, it is not known how famous is the children's section in the store? What would happen if it is the most famous section and gets discontinued? Secondly, the author does not mention who are the main visitors of this section. It can be that adults are more frequent to the section in-order to read and borrow books for their kids at home. If that is the case then discontinuing the section might mean lot of readers may stop coming to the store. Therefore, without knowing how popular the section is, and amongst which population it cannot be assumed that discontinuing it would have no impact on the store.

Finally, the author makes a direct comparison between the Monarch store and Regal Books. Citing the fact that since Regal book has opened a cafe, the Monarch store must do the same. This statement is weak and is not supported by any facts. Can the two stores be compared with each other? There can be plethora of other factors that act in favor of opening a cafe in Regal books store, like its location, type of visitors etc. And the author presents no such comparable facts. Also, the author does not mention that Regal books are in profit after opening the cafe. It could be that opening a cafe reduced their number of customers.

In conclusion, the idea to open a cafe in Monarch store is based on assumptions and evidence which is not complete. Though, the author cites history of the store and studies in support to the claim that opening a cafe might work and there is possibility to open it in current store. But it is not relevant to lend credible support and suffers from numerous gaps that need to be addressed before any conclusion regarding opening a cafe can be made.