Many important discoveries or creations are accidental it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another

Whether it is the early discovery of gravity as it relates to our understanding today, or the more recent knowledge about the existence of antimatter, almost all scientific discoveries have been accidental in nature. Thus, the prompt that ‘many important discoveries or creations’ have been out of the blue is true insofar as it rightfully asserts that research in any field has overarching relations with other domains, which might lead to significant revelations of unexpected nature. Arguably, though history is replete with such examples of ‘eureka’, it does not sufficiently corroborate the fact that dedicated research into a matter of interest is not fruitful, rather it is based on chance whether we come across such fortuitous discoveries. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt, while arguing that there are many instances where efforts targeted towards a dedicated cause has also led to significant creations.

Such examples where people have accidentally arrived at important discoveries is well present in history. One of such discoveries pertains to the law of buoyancy, better known as Archimedes’ principle. It is said that Archimedes’ was taking a bath when he suddenly discovered that the amount of water he displaced was related to his volume. This was a radical discovery at that time and eventually the principles that he formulated based on this observation is closely related to how large, heavy ships are able to float today, advancing transport methods via sea routes. Another scientific example which shows how people unexpectedly arrived at conclusive evidence regarding contrasting characteristics of certain physical phenomenon is Young’s double slit experiment. His observations on how light passed through a couple of slits formed alternating bright and dark fringes led to formulation of the wave-particle duality of light. Earlier it was believed that light was of particulate nature. This eventually paved the way for further discoveries on electrons. Similar to these, but more recent, is the discovery of antimatter. In the CERN Large Hadron Collider, scientists replicated the Big Bang of our Universe, albeit a smaller extent to study the creation of our Universe. What came as a surprise to many people, was traces of a certain type of matter which was unprecedented. Further studies revealed that this was in direct contrast with the ‘matter’ we know of, hence the name ‘antimatter’. Such important revelation led to the knowledge that ‘antimatter’ has been present ever since the beginning, but we were oblivious to this, due to its absence in substantial quantities.

Arguably, many evidences exist as to how dedicated research has facilitated people to make inventions that served beneficial at the community, national or even global levels. For example, the recent coronavirus crisis, better known as COVID-19, became a widespread disease, costing millions of lives. Dedicated research towards mitigating and controlling the disease, through strict government vigilance, help save many lives both internationally. Concerted efforts to deal with such a menace led to cooperation and knowledge sharing amongst nations to develop dedicated vaccines to inoculate the people. At a national level, India’s dedicated endeavours towards developing nuclear power sources became successful and helped in establishing the country as a global economic power. It also helped generate millions of jobs towards the nuclear power facilities thereby uplifting the socio-economic conditions of people in these lesser-known areas of the country.

In conclusion, accidental discoveries although present ubiquitously in history does not disprove that dedicated research is futile. What is certain is that any targeted approach towards solving problems or matter of interest is likely to bring new knowledge, discoveries, and creations whether by chance or through sheer meticulousness. As evident from the presented examples, in my opinion, people should be open to ideas even when following a focused methodology, questioning each and every observation and questioning their earlier perceived knowledge, so as to be able to accept anything new. As such, my opinion stands in agreement with the prompt, insofar as it does not pronounce a judgement on dedicated efforts or research towards matters of concern as unpropitious.