"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the argument, the author concludes that in order to improve productivity, all of the employees of the Acme Publishing Company must be required to take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. The author comes to this conclusion based on several premises. The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company might be valid, but before the persuasivness of the argument can be properly evaluated, he must answer the following three questions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the two graduates of the course are indicative of the whole workforce in the Acme Publishing Company. Perhaps the first graduate who was able to read a 500-page report in two hours simply skimmed the report and did not retain any information. In addition, the other graduate mentioned who rose from an assistant manager position to becoming the vice president of the company in under a year, only got rewarded with the promotion due to nepotism instead of merit. If these scenarios are proven to be true, greatly calls into question the effectiveness and results of the Easy Read Speed-Reading course and undermine the credibility of the author’s argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the other companies that have used the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course are not lying about the results that garnered from using the program. For example, the company could have provided glowing results due to an agreement in a signed contract between the company and the Easy Read course. Furthermore, the “many other companies” mentioned in the recommendation could have been a mininal number such as 2 or 3 comapanies and thus calls into question the benefits of using this program. If proven to be true, then the author’s argument of participatiing in the Easy Read course leading to an increase in productivity doesn’t hold water

Finally, the author assumes that the cost of participating in the Easy Read course is a “small price to pay” for the employee and neglects to take into account the background of its employees. Perhaps, an employee who single handedly raises a household of 6 family members cannot afford to spend $500 in a program in which the money could be used to buy essential necessities for the family members. In addition, another employee could be in debt due to outstanding medical bills and thus cannot spend $500 on a program mandated by the Ame Publishing Company. If proven to be true, it would signifcantly hamper the validity and reliability of the recommendation.

To conclude, although the central claim presented by the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company might hold water, indicating that there is a causal relationship between productivity and fast readiing, the author needs to answer the three above questions in order to increase the persuasiveness of the argument.