All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Parents interactions in a child’s life can help lead them on the right path to a brighter future. By volunteering at their child’s school, is one way to stay connected and be vigilant on their child’s growth and development. However, being a part of a child’s school is not the only way to stay on top of their child and in most cases, may not even be an option for the parents. While I do agree that parents volunteering at their children’s school is beneficial, I do not think it should be mandatory because each family dynamic is different. If duties allow them, only should parents voluntarily sign up for it.

In some cases, it is beneficial to require parents to volunteer time to their children’s school. For instance, by having parents volunteer time in the school, it allows them to gain more knowledge about the academic opportunities and extracurricular activities that are available for the children to pursue. This way, the parents can be more aware about the education that their children will be receiving and push their children to sign up for extracurricular activities that can enhance skills. By having parents embedded in the educational path of the it children, it can will lead to higher motivation and allow their children to stay on the right path towards a stable future career choice. This phenomenon also allows for acquiring connections with teachers and parents. Parents and teachers can work together to come up with activities that can lead to a boost in student morale, forge new relationship between the students as well as bring a good reputation to the school. Thus, by having parents engage in their child’s school, it can lead to a better experience for both the parent and the child during their education path in their school.

However, in most cases it can be harmful to require parents to volunteer time to their children’s school. For example, parents will high demanding jobs such as a surgeon will be unable to devote any time they have left to volunteer at the schools. Surgeons spend most of their time in the hospital taking care of patients, doing research and more importantly performing surgeries. Also, a surgeon has an unpredictable schedule that demands them to drop everything the moments their presence is required at the hospital. In addition to any personal responsibilities the parent may hold, this leaves them with no time to devote to focusing on volunteering at their children’s school. The above example illustrates that there will be cases where parents will be unable to devote any spare time they have to volunteer at their children’s school. It is absurd to think that by requiring parents to volunteer at their children’s school will be feasible for everyone.

Furthermore, in the case of single parents, it may be more tough for them to devote time to volunteer to children’s school’s due to lack of support usually given by a spouse. A single parent may have a lifestyle where they rely on the weekly paychecks that they receive from their job in order to afford the necessities to attain a certain lifestyle. By requiring these parents to take away time from their work to volunteer time at the school, will lead to a reducing in the salary that they receive which can be detrimental for potential bills and foods that will now be unable to pay for. This can also lead to a negative effect for the child, as by forcing the parent to volunteer time at the school and take expenses away going toward school supplies and future higher education. Thus, the school needs to look at the demographics of its students and the backgrounds before implementing an idea that can lead to problems arising in households.

In conclusion, the scheme of requiring parents to devote time to volunteer at their child’s school is an idea that need to be debated more and researched upon implementing. In the cases stated above, it will be proven to do more harm than good by making the volunteer hours a requirement. We are more likely to reach an adequate solution to this complex topic by observing the advantages and disadvantages this will have on students