Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Over the past several decades, leaders and regimes have adopted their own style of ruling and governing over their respective societies. Whether it involves incorporating ideas from the public or not, the accomplishments that results can vary. This prompt asserts that a leader who is subjected to popular opinion will not be able to accomplish big accolades during their time in office. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt for two reasons, but I do concede that a leader who is easily swayed by public opinion can make cursory decisions which can lead to little accomplishments.

Firstly, a leader who is influenced by shifts in popular opinion will not accomplish little because by listening to the voices of the popular opinion, it can lead to a more organized and cohesive society which can prove to have beneficial effects. For example, before the presidency of Barack Obama, same-sex marriage was not legalized in the United States. This lead to a society that looked down on the LGBTQ community and creating a new cast of minorities and outcasts. When President Barack Obama swore into office, one of his greatest accomplishments included legalizing same-sex marriage. Looking at the aftermath, it has proven to be beneficial by allowing a minority fraction to let their voices be heard. In addition, after the horrific event of the Parkland shooting and Sandy Hook Elementary shooting, society shifted from support of current gun laws to promoting a change in the gun laws. Governors all over the United States listened to popular opinion at the time and decided to implement a change in gun laws that included stricter background checks and more security on various campuses. Due to these new laws, the number of school shootings has decreased. These examples outlines above showed how when leaders listened to the popular opinion that shifted due to the current events, it leads to great accolades that proved to not serve as a complication to society but lead to a more cohesive and inclusive society.

Secondly, a leader who is quickly influenced will not accomplish little but instead accomplish great things because by promising to cater to the demands of the public it can lead to an increase in supporters which can help promote acceptance into the leadership position and lead to greater accomplishments. For example, President Donald Trump listened to the worries and concerns of the popular opinion by making promises that may seem radical to some people but managed to cause a shift in the belief of the people. By changing his campaign to adopt the concerns of the population, he managed to overturn states that were majority voting democratic to become red states which voted primarily republican for that election. In addition, Hitler during his campaign played upon the fears and concerns that Germany had at the time due o the aftermath of World War I and used that to his advantage to gain power. With the use of propaganda and fear, Hitler was able to accomplish all of the goals he set out for himself such as invading Poland, starting World War II, and precipitating a mass genocide. Although these goals were looked down upon by nations all over the globe, they were nonetheless huge accomplishments that are written in the history books today. The mass popular is a huge factor that decided whether the regime or leader gains power. The more reliance the society has on the leader, the more powerful they become. As seen in the two examples above, a powerful leader is only powerful by listening to the voice of popular opinion and can thus accomplish a lot.

However, I do concede that a leader who is easily influenced and acts subjectively due to the voices of the people can accomplish little and may even have disastrous effects. For example, COVID-19 that has swept many nations has caused lockdowns and placed societies on quarantine. After months of this, the public voiced their opinion of reopening and resuming life to normal. Governors in states such as Arizona and Flordia listening to public opinion and opened their states to early which caused a resurgence of COVID-19 cases. This is an example of how when a leader does listen to popular opinion, it can have bad effects on society due to the lack of understanding and knowledge the mass population may possess.

To conclude, while I do agree that leaders can accomplish a lot while listening to public opinion, it is also evident in history and contemporary society that detrimental effects can arise. More research and observations are needed in order to achieve a decisive answer.