"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here argues that the acme publishing company wants their employees to take the easy speed Reading course that would benefit the company in various aspects. To espouse his argument the author claims that many other companies have greatly improved the productivity having their employees to take this course. Moreover, author adduces that One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. In addition to these the author also claims that the cost of course very low ,$500 per employee including three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Plausibly, above argument seems true to some extent but it suffers several minor flaws and has various setbacks.

The primary issue with the argument lies in its unsubstantiated theory, the authors gratuitous assumption is based on impertinent comparison that acme would be benefited from the course similar to other companies. However, he has not compared the overall existing problems and situation of acme with other companies and it what ways the course helped to overcome those.

The secondary issue with the argument lies when author cites an example of a graduate getting benefited from the course. Firstly it is certainly not germane to judge the effectiveness of the course on the basis of minute details, It can be highly probable that the graduate would be deft enough in other skills to reach to the acme in years. Perhaps a sharp and detailed research would have it more patent to decide the efficacy of course.

The tertiary issue with the argument lies in the reasoning that the course would be good to opt for because of its low price and additional subscriptions, Again the relevancy of the claim can be considered sub-par since it does not render details compared to another courses and based on various criteria other than price.

Hence to Sum up the aforementioned claims does not provide ammunition to its conjecture in a whole, argument would been given more weight-age if it would considered the holistic factors buttressed with depth of data.