Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The speaker believes that the mass media and the internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter. However, I agree with the author's claim that the overall effect has been positive.

Though people are less able to focus on one thing but they have enhanced the ability to sort through large quantities of information and what's important.

First of all, we need to understand that how mass media and the internet made our attention spans shorter. In today's world, everything is online now. From paying bills to studying and submitting test, we have adapted everything that internet proposes us. Internet has become our one of the essential necessities. While internet provides vast range of information to us, we are becoming mercurial by disposition.

Let take youtube as mass media example. more than billion people are using youtube for various purposes like, learning, viewing latest updates about movies, trailers, etc. However, when we started viewing some video about cooking recipe, we got some other suggestion videos and we tend to move to one by one and after an hour we realize that we are watching totally irrelevant video rather than cooking recipe. Why did this happen? Our main intention has been influenced by different recommendation by Youtube using a deceptive way which we don't even recognize at first. Admittedly, as the author said, we loose our main focus from one thing and eventually our attention span truncate by this attractive advertises and recommendations.

However, internet has made learning so easy that you can even learn any thing at your home without spending any money or going anywhere. Students can able to find solutions for common problems from their textbooks with different explanations. By providing fastest and best searching algorithm, internet has improved the efficiency to find or sort through large information very quickly.

All in all, it totally depends upon us as internet has improved our learning and efficiency to gain knowledge. But losing control over our main purpose or deviate from what we actually want, eventually made us less attentive toward anything.