The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The fact that culture changes are inevitable is something that most people would agree. Some people still follow some traditions that were followed centuries ago. It is also true that most youths today do not follow the culture that were being followed by their grandparents. The modern youths tend to change the cultural trends according to their convenience, but I believe that the underlying principles are the same and does not undergo any radical changes. Thus, I mostly disagree with the given prompt because not every youth tend to change the cultural trends. There are still many youths who strictly follow the same culture that have been established centuries ago.

To begin, in some cases the culture does get altered with modern youths' disinclination towards the existing traditions. For instance, once it has been a tradition where the woman had no choice to choose her spouse. Only the man had the choice and once he decides that he wants a marry a particular woman, then they both would eventually get married even without asking the consent of the woman. There are still various other scenarios where the women were forced to follow the culture and weren't given an opportunity to declaim their preferences. This also applies to the educational opportunities for women in ancient times. Even though if a woman wants to pursue her education, she wasn't allowed to go to school. A woman's primarily role was to do the household chores and provide a man with things that he needs. But, that culture has changed in the past few decades and woman are given an opportunity to voice-out their opinion in almost all the matters. They get to choose their spouse and cannot be forcefully married to a man whom she doesn't want to marry. All women are given an equal opportunity for pursuing their education and they have the freedom to choose their career path. This reveals us that the culture has undergone a significant change in the past few decades and the same is being reflected among the modern-age youths.

However, the cultural trends does not get altered altogether. Many rituals, which were established hundreds of years ago, are still being followed by a significant number of people. These rituals are even followed by the youths of modern world. For instance, the tradition of refraining oneself from consuming meat on an auspicious day is something that is being followed for hundreds of years and is still in practice. There is also an Indian tradition where people place a lemon under the tires of their vehicles and runover the lemon and squash it. This was done by people a few centuries ago mainly to kill all the germs in the foot of cows and horses which were the primary mode of transportation. This was followed due to anti-septic quality of lemons. But, people follow this even today where cows and horses are not used as a mode of transportation anymore. From these examples, we can conclude that the culture has evolved but the basic practices hasn't changed completely.

Furthermore, deciding upon the contemporary culture solely by analyzing the modern youths can be misleading because youths from some communities tend to strictly follow their tradition while youths belonging to some other communities might no longer follow their ancient culture. For example, youths from a specific community in India start learning about all the rituals and mantras from a very young age and they dedicate their entire lives to worshiping god in temples. Considering this particular group of youths, one might conclude that most of the traditions are still followed by the current youths. On the other hand, there are youths who are more inclined towards formal education in the fields of science and technology and hardly pay attention to the ancient tradition. Thus, arriving at a conclusion about the cultural trends solely based on analyzing the youths could be misleading and isn't really the most effective way of understanding contemporary culture.

In conclusion, there are some scenarios were analyzing the trends of youths can be a better way of understanding their culture but this is not true in all cases. From the above examples, it is safe to conclude that the cultural trends might evolve over time but the rudimentary principles remain the same. Therefore, a culture could be understood at a superficial level even without analyzing the trends of its youths