In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that government should have the responsibility. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Obesity is becoming an increasing problem not only among adults but also among children. Hence, children these days are unhealthier than they were in the past and some people believe that it is the responsibility of the government to resolve this issue. However, I believe that it is the duty of the people and not that of the government to make sure that their kids are healthy and are in a good shape.

To begin, it is a fact that everyone especially children have started to consume more junk food in recent times. However, no government encourages its people to eat fast food. Hence, it is the choice made by people to eat a lot of slap-up meals. For instance, there has been an abundant availability of fast foods like shawarma in recent times. This is due to the fact that there has been a surge in its demand as people including children are enjoying it a lot. If they had realized that it is their eating habits that made them obese then they would have stayed fit by having a balanced diet. Hence, it is clear that more the fatty food consumed by children, there are more chances of them suffering from obesity and that government has nothing to do with this.

Secondly, with the advent of digital technologies like smart phones and laptops more children are getting addicted to them, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle as they spend most of their time playing video games rather than doing physical activities. A clear example of this would be the increasing popularity of video games like PUBG, which is played by people of all ages from all over the world. Therefore, it is the duty of parents and teachers and not that of the government's to make sure that their child is involving in some sports activities to keep themselves fit.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that it is the people's duty to make sure that their children have a healthy diet and do sports to stay healthy.