educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim, In developing and supporting your position, be sire to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

It is not uncommon to see students overthinking about their career choices and once they make a decision they often second-guess it. Therefore, it would be extremely helpful for a student to have a professional guidance in choosing their career paths. The given prompt makes a claim that educational institutions have a responsibility to deter students in pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I mostly agree with the given statement mainly for two reasons. However, there are certain cases where the educational institutions might mislead a student.

To begin, various factors like job opportunities, difficulty level in learning the subjects influence students in choosing their career paths. Therefore it is possible that a student might choose a field of study just because it is relatively easier to learn the subjects in that field while compared to the other domains. For instance, a student might choose to study History instead of Electronics engineering mainly because he thinks History is relatively easier. Making such a decision without thinking about their interest, or how good he may be in that particular field can be deleterious to their career. Therefore, a guidance from the Educational institution might help students to obtain clarity and introspect carefully before making any decision.

Furthermore, not all students find their bliss in an early stage and therefore are in a dire need of an expert guidance to choose their field of study. For instance, a student might be good at logical thinking which would help him become a good computer programmer. But, in case if he is not aware of the field of computer science, which primarily deals with programming stuff, he goes in search of some other field in which he might not be at his best. The student might go on pursuing a career in arts or economics. He might end up being dissatisfied with his work and regret he might have chosen a different domain in which he is good. To avoid such situations, a student need to seek for an expert guidance, which he might find in an educational institution. Therefore, educational institutions have the responsibility to help such students in finding their career path.

One might argue that educational institutions cannot focus on the personal interest of each and every student studying in it. Therefore, it is possible that an educational institution might mislead a student. Hence, it is not only the responsibility of educational institutions but also that of students to exploit the resources available to them through their schools.

In conclusion, when a student needs some guidance it is the responsibility of educational institutions to provide the required support and assist the students to choose the field of study that best matches their interest and skills.