Most people agree that buildings represents a valuable records of any society’s past, but controversy arises when old building stands on ground that modern planner feel could be better used for modern purposes. In such situations, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings so that contemporary need can be served.

The speaker asserts to give more precedence to the modern development for the practical purpose over the preservation of the historical building. Since the building could represent the valuable historical record of the past of a society, I personally believe that it should be dealt with case-by-case study.

To determine whether to raze the historical building, modern planner should consider the gravity of the utilitarian needs of the society. For instance, if the planner is going to build a hospital to provide health facilities to the fast growing community, it is reasonable to give more precedence for the modern development over the preservation of such building. Or, if the planner is going to build an orphanage, old-aged home, or residents to the homeless people then it is justifiable to give more importance on the modern development of building for practical purpose. On the other hand, if the need is primarily for more office space to a private company, or for the construction of shopping mall and departmental store, then modern development would carry no importance over the preservation of historical building.

Modern planner should also consider the historical importance and the uniqueness of such building before deciding whether to raze the building or not. For instance, the building could be a unique historical building clearly representing the past era such as a palace of a great king, or the oldest museum of the nation, or some important cultural heritage, then such building provides a unique identity to the nation and preserving such historical building would be more important over modern development. On the other hand, if the building is not uniquely remarkable and could not represents some important past events of the era, then preserving such building would carry little sense over the practical necessity of the building for the utilitarian need of the society.

Similarly, the architectural value and the aesthetics of the building also play an important role in deciding whether to raze the building for practical need. For instance, if the building is the unique architectural accomplishment of the era representing the nation uniquely due to its special ancient design and the material used, which is not found in the modern time at any cost, or no modern architecture can construct such uniquely beautiful design and even retrofitting of the building to accommodate the current practical need might weaken the historical value and the aesthetics of the building, then preservation of such building should be given more precedence over modern development. On the other hand, if the building is a normal building with no such unique architectural and aesthetic values, or number of such building exist in the nation then modern development for the practical need should be given more importance.

In conclusion, I believe that the interest of constructing new building for practical purpose in expense of the old historical building should be determined on the basis of its historical importance, architectural and aesthetic value and the gravity of the community’s current utilitarian need.