Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The writer contends that colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academidc world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. I mostly agree with the writer's assertin, however in few realms it can deteriorate the whole teaching learning activities of the classroom.

First of all, in the sector such as Engineering and Agriculture, if a faculty work outside the academic field, he usuallly gets practical knowledge abundantly and develops cogent view regarding the subject. As we know, when a faculty has acute insight in a subject matter, only when he may deliver a concise knowledge to his students. For the supporting example, when I was teaching in university only, I didn't have much knowledge about the field, but after when I joined to the construction company as a part time engineer, I found that the practical knowledge has very much bolstered my insight knowledge. Gradually, my teaching had improved drastically and students were started to appreciate my insight about the subject.

Secondly, in the sector such as Agriculture, only the book knowledge is not sufficient to devlep the clear concept about the subject matter. One of my friend Ram, who was a agriculture graduate and was in a teaching profession. He also cites that, when he starded a part time job as a research assistant in a company related to his field, his knowledge and insight of the subject matter has significantly grown and was able to interpret in a lucid way to his students.

Thirdly, however, implementing such requirement in the field such as language teachin can deteriorate the teaching learning activities. For language teaching, a faculty should have strong proficiency on writing and interpreting it. In order to develp such proficiency, a faculty should spend more time on his preparation, when he works outside, he maynot get time to prepare, which results reduced quality of teaching learnig activites.

In sum, I mostly agree with the writer's assertion, however, in some case it can be counterproductive. So, it should be implemented for those realms in which it has optimum benefit, and not in those realms which has counterproductive outcoumes.