Most of the people we consider heroic today were, in fact, very ordinary people who happened to be in the right place at the right time. - GRE Issue 20

Heroes are not an ordinary man at a right place and a right time, but right men and women at a wrong place and a wrong time. Heroes make tough choices normal men can’t , heroes make great sacrifice though they can choose otherwise. Heroes are people with greater capacity and make bitter choices in the time of need.

When your neighbor faces a bad time, fire scorching neighborhood, ill-faith people holding a firearm, ultimate sacrifice will be made and his ascension to herohood concludes. People can’t distinguish heroes from the herd, only when the time is bad, evil on the rise, true hero can make a tougher choice. A choice unwise, irrational in everyday context, but heroic at the moment of truth. A sacrifice of one, can benefit thousands who did not. When very ordinary man facing high tide of fate, losing a life, damaging a body’s health, why should he be expected to act? Submission to death, forever lost of a limb, an ordinary man would never give up willingly, or be laughed at as fools for the remainder of his life. But a hero will choose death.

Not everyone can be a heor. Just like the old times, Hellenic champions travel the seven seas, completing quests for Goddesses on the top of Olympus. Saving a land from foreign invaders, expelling monstrosity from farmlands. Everyone wants to be a hero, but an ordinary mortal won’t have a chance when facing a force of nature. When a scientist worked in the Manhattan project, he used his full strength to separate 2 50lb uranium bars. If nobody chose to act, a critical reaction will be triggered and everyone inside the facility would be vaporized. 100lb seems to be light, but the bars were heavy, dense and hot, not everyone can hold them tightly and steadily for a few minutes.

We always hope everyone can be a hero, any parents, grandparents, your neighbor Joe and Jesse can one day save the world or at least a family. We hope they can make the “tougher” choice for us, so we won’t lose everything, or anything we value. But this is far too selfish, a true hero will never wait and let happen, denying our chance to prove later and salvation.

When we are sitting in a bystander or speculator’s seat, we always mumble “I can do it, if I was at his post.” But we hesitated, waited, and felt lucky we “did not.” This makes heroic deeds honorable forever, no ordinary man can substitute even at a good time and good place.