“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation states that a nation should strictly follow one set of national curriculum throughout the country for school education. There are multiple reasons for bolstering this recommendation considering the welfare of the students in their later stage of life when they enter the competitive world. Also, we need to look at the other side of the coin to ensure satisfaction of students at school level. Hence, the process should not be completely autocratic and everyone involved should have some say while designing the education model.

The sole purpose of primary education is to build the foundation so that students can be prepared to face global challenges once they enter college. While designing the curriculum, it is essential to look into the curriculum of foreign nations as well as thoroughly study the requirements which need to be fulfilled at the national level. This will ensure that students are well prepared to compete with peers while appearing for examinations at national and international level. Thus, a central framework is required to plan the curriculum considering these aspects which will be helpful for students while pursuing their degree level education.

There is no doubt that planning of the curriculum should involve the central level of government, but at the same time there should be some degree of freedom given to the states as well. This comes into play specially in the case of languages. For example - In India, if you stay in Maharashtra, it is advised that you are fluent in Marathi, which is the local language, while you are interacting with the majority of the citizens and specially when visiting government offices. Whereas, in South India, it is better if you have a good command in tamil or Telegu. Therefore, centre can make a basic outline in the curriculum that it is necessary for students to learn 3 languages during their school education - English, as it is common language worldwide, second is Hindi which is common in the country and third should be the local language of the particular state. Thus, international, national as well as local factors have been taken into account.

The main players of the education system are teachers and students. The opinion of children, professors and their parents should also be considered as a feedback while planning and revising the curriculum. It is a well known fact that one solution will not satisfy everyone's needs. If the teachers are not satisfied with the national curriculum and their voice is not being heard at the central level while complaining from a small town, there is a very good possibility that the teacher will lose his interest in his profession. This will surely have a negative impact on his teaching as well as the academic performance of the students. Thus, while making the centre in charge of the curriculum there should be arrangements so that teachers and students can convey their dissatisfaction and accordingly amendements can be incorporated into the curriculum.

To sum it up, it is vital to have a national curriculum so that citizens can transform into good global citizens later in life. At the same time, along with the central government even the state government should be given some decision powers. Lastly, even the primary participants of the education system - teachers and students should also be a part of the process while making modifications. Therefore, the planning of a curriculum at school level should be conducted in a democratic way.