A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

"All the students of the country should acquire the same education till they enter their college.", I disagree with this statement as it is based on an assumption that all the students are the same and have the same caliber. It is just like testing a tortoise and a cheetah in a race, even after knowing that both of them have different characteristics.

To understand the flaw in the above recommendation let's look at an example, in India, on average fourteen lakh engineers graduate every year and these individuals are forced to study History, Geography, and other irrelevant subjects and which they are never going to use in their future. These individuals could have utilized this time to gain higher knowledge in their own respective fields.

Moreover, the education system that teaches everyone the same things is going to test everyone is going to be tested in the same manner too, which is going to create a lot of pressure on the individual students. In a survey, it was shown that the education system in India (which is based upon the above recommendation) has resulted in pressurizing the individuals which has led to a higher suicide rate among students.

Some people would say that everyone should gain common knowledge till they enter the colleges as students should have the basic knowledge of every discipline but I would love to ask them how does a humanity graduate going to use organic chemistry or how is reading about the emancipation proclamation going to help an engineer.

In a nutshell, I would like to say that we need to understand the different people have different interest and getting a basic knowledge about a field can be achieved by studing all the subjects on a lower level and till the time they reach the college.