A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

As children, we always dream about becoming a pilot or a doctor but little do we know that those are just general dreams all kids have as they fancy what they see. This however not the profession most people enter.. When we grow to an older age we realise there are many options and which one to select among them becomes a problem. By keeping a standardized curriculum that will make the child experience and understand the general preview of all the major fields, it will help them choose the subject of their liking in college.

Having this standardised curriculum it will make the selection and filtering process easier for colleges as well. All the people will be writing the same examination which will mean the grades received will be with respect to the same set of subjects. There will be no discrepancies. For instance, the GRE has 3 main sections in consideration and all students are graded and compared on these three sections, verbal, quant, AWA. however say every state/ country had its own standards it would make it difficult to have a baseline of comparison between all students, similarly with subjects. If all students take their own subject combination it becomes difficult for the universities to have a baseline of comparison.

This curriculum will be well planned and designed, made with the help of experts in the field. This would mean it will be holistic, which would help the students have an overall development even if the student is not invested in a given subject. Some things are considered necessary to be known. For instance it necessary for one to know some basic maths, many students don't like maths and if given an option they might opt out, This, however, is not helpful for the student in the long run.

The flip side to this approach is that sometimes students already have a decided mindset as to what they would like to pursue in college. For such students having a generalised course would be less helpful, some might even consider it a waste of time and money. for instance a student who is interested In science is made to do English literature and history while he would rather spend time doing advanced calculus. It would definitely de motive the student to have to do subjects he doesn't like. However this won't harm a student if he is forced to do subjects he doesn't like, it would definitely damage the careers of students who don't know what they want to choose and there isn't a standardised curriculum for them to explore through.

To sum up it is clear that having the same curriculum nationwide until entering college is highly beneficial mainly to the students but also to the colleges recruiting these students.