The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station

Over the past year, our late-night new program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from the views were concerned with our station’s coverage of the weather and local news. In Addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memorandum states that there have been complaints regarding the coverage of local news and weather, which has, in turn, resulted in the drop in viewership of the channel. Their solution is to give more time for weather and local news and in turn, their viewership and revenue from local advertising will increase. I find this approach tightly logically flawed for the following reasons.

The time given to national news might have been increased for multiple reasons. There might not be much to report locally and there is only so much weather information a channel can provide. Just because the time for local news and weather is less than that for national news doesn't mean that it has decreased over the past year, It might have remained the same and the time given for national news has been increased making it seem like it has reduced.

The concerns of coverage of weather and local news don't have to do with the amount of air time given only. It might be possible the reporter is monotonous and no one enjoys his/her delivery. It is also possible a lot of the data and information that has been reported has been wrong and not properly corroborated. This could be some of the reasons for the complaints from the people.

As mentioned above down in the number of viewership due to complaint is a possible reason that the companies have shifted to other channels for advertising their products, It is also possible that there are new methods of advertising which is more effective and economical, therefore companies have started to adopt those techniques like social media and or other streaming platforms like youtube.

Even if the manager's assumptions for the reasons In the drop of viewership and approach to bring it back up and even increase revenue is correct, there is no guarantee that giving more time for weather and local news will help gain more viewers and revenue. It is possible that the drop is due to other factors an economic slump which is making companies reduce their advertising budgets, irrespective of time given they will not spend more money on advertising.

To sum up, if the manager had shown supporting data that the complaints were actually related to less coverage of weather and local news, or evidence that the increase in viewership will bring back companies to advertise on their channel would have helped agree with the conclusion /solution the manager had come up with.